Quick Links

Useful Links

Hatcham College

Individual Music Lessons

Individual Music Lessons

Instrumental and vocal teaching is accessible to all students in Year 7-13. Lessons can be arranged on a variety of instruments. 

We offer tuition on the following instruments and voices:

Strings Violin, Viola, Cello
Woodwind Flute, Clarinet, Oboe, Bassoon, Saxophone
Brass Trumpet, French Horn, Trombone
Percussion Drum Kit
Guitar Acoustic, Classical, Electric and Bass
Piano Classical and Jazz
Vocals All styles of singing

Lessons are taught by a group of talented professional musicians and teachers to work in partnership with us and are committed to raising the profile of music here at Hatcham College. 

How to apply for music lessons

Lessons are available from the start of each term. If your son/daughter wishes to start lessons next term please complete the form below. You will then be contacted regarding your application and a payment will be requested if applicable. 

Please ensure that you have read through the information below in our frequently asked questions, regarding payment for lessons and also our terms and conditions. 

If there is spaces available on the music teacher's timetable, your child will start lessons the following term. 

 

Frequently Asked questions - music lessons

When do lessons take place?

Lessons take place during the normal school day (8.30am until 3.15pm) although some teachers start their day at 8am and some finish at 5pm. Students will be timetabled so that minimal disruption is caused to their normal school timetable. Lesson times normally rotate each week and in most circumstances you will not miss part of the same school lesson more than twice during the same half-term. Parents are emailed the half terms timetable before the start of term and are informed of any changes to the timetable that may need to take place. A copy will also be on a display in the music corridor on both sites. All lessons take place within the music department.

How much do lessons cost?

A 30 minute lesson costs £15. Hatcham College subsidise the remainder of the lesson fee. All lessons are on a one-to-one basis. There are 30 lessons taught across the academic year.

How is it paid for?

Payment is required every term in advance via Parent Pay.

Autumn term – 10-12 instrumental lessons - £180/term

Spring term -  8-10 instrumental lessons - £150/term

Summer term – 8-10 instrumental lessons - £120/term

As all our instrumental teachers take on various freelance work and performances there is a level of flexibility when it comes to their teaching work. We endeavour to make sure that all students receive 30 lessons across the year but if for any reason your child does not receive this number of lessons by the end of the academic year then this would of course be refunded to you.

Does anyone receive free music tuition?

Some students are eligible for free music lessons on one instrument:

  • Music Placeholders
  • Students studying GCSE or A Level Music.
  • Pupil Premium students

Should a student not meet the attendance or behaviour requirements during any one term the school reserves the right to withdraw lessons until further notice.

Instruments at risk

There are a number of instruments which are endangered and at risk. These instruments are:

  • Bassoon
  • Oboe
  • Trombone

To ensure that we have students learning these instruments we are prepared to offer lessons at significantly reduced rates for a limited period of time when students start lessons.

If your son/daughter wishes to learn one of these instruments at risk please contact Mrs Rees for more information. 

What if I do not have my own instrument?

Hatcham own a large number of instruments that are available for loan to students who are taking lessons. Please ask us for more details on the availability of specific instruments. Loan periods may need to be capped to allow more students to start particular instruments. You will be asked to pay a deposit of £50 on Parent Pay - HAHC Instrument Loan Deposit before you receive a school instrument. This will be refunded once the instrument is returned in good working order. You might like to buy your own instrument or get an instrument on loan from a separate company. If in doubt, ask the instrumental teacher first, who will be able to give buying advice.

Instrumental staff contact list

Brass

Miss Sian Collins BMus (Hons), MPerf – s.collins@haaf.org.uk

Mr Ben Day - b.day@haaf.org.uk 

Guitar/Bass Guitar

Mr Tom King BA (Hons) – t.king@haaf.org.uk

Mr Williams-Silvera (Bass Guitar) - t.williamssilvera@haaf.org.uk 

Mr Max Pope - m.pope@haaf.org.uk 

Percussion

Mr Boz Martin-Jones (Percussion) – b.martin-jones@haaf.org.uk 

Woodwind

Mr Leslie Jones (Clarinet and Saxophone) – l.jones@haaf.org.uk

Mr Richard Cooper (Flute and Saxophone) – r.cooper@haaf.org.uk

Miss Ruth Tyler (Oboe) BMus (Hons), MPerf– r.tyler@haaf.org.uk

Strings

Mrs Janice Gillard (Violin) – j.gillard@haaf.org.uk

Mr Jamie Campbell (Violin) – j.campbell@haaf.org.uk

Mr Peter Poole (Violin)

Mrs Marianne Rist (Cello) – m.rist@haaf.org.uk

Vocals

Miss Sophie Atalar  s.atalar@haaf.org.uk

Mr Tom Stoddart - t.stoddart@haaf.org.uk 

Terms and Conditions

 

Terms and Conditions for Instrumental and Vocal Tuition

  1. Full payment is required every term in advance via Parent Pay.
  2. Payment constitutes an agreement to proceed with lessons for the term. No refunds will be given.
  3. Late applications will be accepted subject to tutor availability.
  4. If a student is unable to attend their timetabled lesson for a legitimate reason and with a minimum notice period of at least 24 hours’ notice being given to the teacher/music department (preferably by email), the lesson will be rescheduled.
  5. In the event that a tutor is unavailable for a lesson the lesson will automatically be rescheduled as close to the original date as possible.
  6. Students are expected to attend all timetabled lessons. Absences without at least 24 hours’ notification may be report to parents/carers via email. Regular absence where the student is in school and does not give at least 24 hours’ notification may result in lessons being stopped.
  7. Students are expected to attend all lessons with suitable equipment and music.

If a student wishes to stop instrumental/vocal lessons 6 weeks’ notice should be given via email – e.segal@haaf.org.uk